Remote Wipe an Office 365 Account on a Mobile Device

You can use built-in mobile device management for Office 365 to do a selective wipe to remove only organizational information, or a full wipe to delete all information from a mobile device and restore it to its factory settings.

To help protect your organization's information, you can do Factory reset or Remove company data:

Factory reset: Deletes all data on a user's mobile device, including installed applications, photos, and personal information. When the wipe is complete, the device is restored to its factory settings.

Remove company data: Removes only organization data and leaves installed applications, photos, and personal information on a user's mobile device.

When a device is wiped (full wipe or selective wipe), the device is removed from the list of managed devices.

To wipe a mobile device, follow the steps below:

  1. Log into admin.microsoft.com.

  2. In the left navigation pane, go to Exchange under Admin Centers.

  3. Select Mailboxes under Recipients.

  4. Select the User you would like to wipe and click View Details on the right hand pane.

  5. Select the type of remote wipe you want to do with the drop down.

    • To do a selective wipe and delete only Office 365 organization information, select Account Only Remote Wipe Device.

    • To do a full wipe and restore the device to its factory settings, select Factory reset.

  6. Select Yes to confirm.

You'll no longer see the mobile device in the list of managed devices. The wipe is sent immediately to the mobile device. The device is also marked as not compliant in Azure active directory.

How to Wipe a Users Device as an Office 365 Admin